Flounders’ Folly – Opening Dates 2018

Flounders’ Folly

Flounders’ Folly opens to the public on certain days of the year allowing you to climb the 78 stone steps to the viewing platform where on a clear day you can expect wonderful views of the Malvern Hills, the Black Mountains, Cader Idris, and the Long Mynd as shown below.

View of Long Mynd From Flounders Folly

Flounders’ Folly – Opening Dates 2018

When the Folly is open a St George’s Flag is flown from the top of the Folly and the planned opening dates for 2018 are:

Sunday 28th January 11:00 – 15:00

Sunday 25th February 11:00 – 15:00

Sunday 25th March 11:00 – 16:00

Friday 30th March 11:00 – 16:00 Good Friday

Monday 2nd April 11:00 – 16:00 Easter Monday

Sunday 29th April 11:00 – 16:00

Monday 7th May 11:00 – 16:00 Bank Holiday Monday

Sunday 27th May 11:00 – 16:00

Monday 28th May 11:00 – 16:00 Bank Holiday Monday

Sunday 24th June 11:00 – 16:00

Sunday 29th July 11:00 – 16:00

Sunday 26th August 11:00 – 16:00

Monday 27th August 11:00 – 16:00 Bank Holiday Monday

Saturday 8th September 11:00 – 14:00 – Heritage Open Day

Saturday 9th September 11:00 – 14:00 – Heritage Open Day

Saturday 13th September 11:00 – 14:00 – Heritage Open Day

Saturday 15th September 11:00 – 14:00 – Heritage Open Day

Sunday 30th September 11:00 – 16:00

Sunday 28th October 11:00 – 15:00

Sunday 25th November 11:00 – 15:00

The folly is only open to visitors on certain days of the year and whilst there is no fixed entrance fee you are requested to make a small donation to The Flounders’ Folly Trust to support the maintenance of this landmark.

A series of interpretation boards that run round the viewing platform provide illustrations that help you to identify the landmarks you can see in the 360 degree panorama of the whole area around Craven Arms and Church Stretton including the Shropshire Hills Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.

Flounders' Folly Interpretation Board

Flounders’ Folly Interpretation Board

You can learn more about Flounders’ Folly in an earlier blog post.